Please stop saying "and" in your numbers

deva

DIS Veteran
Hello podsquad,

I love the podcast. You guys are great. One request...

I hate to sound like a nit, and nobody is perfect, but I'm a math teacher and it hurts me every time you guys say a number, for example "2008," but pronounce it "two-thousand and eight. Saying "and" while pronouncing a number is only to represent a decimal point, and the portion of the number spoken after the "and" represents the decimal (fractional) portion of the number.

You guys probably have youngsters listening and hopefully they have good math teachers and realize the way you guys pronounce it is wrong.

I ain't even caring about no grammar while I am on the boards.

Gotta worry about that bs while at work

My 2 cents.

Great now I have another reason to be afraid to post around here. I might get judged for my writing. :rolleyes:

Hello podsquad,

I hate to sound like a nit, and nobody is perfect, but I'm a math teacher and it hurts me every time you guys say a number, for example "2008," but pronounce it "two-thousand and eight. Saying "and" while pronouncing a number is only to represent a decimal point, and the portion of the number spoken after the "and" represents the decimal (fractional) portion of the number.

You guys probably have youngsters listening and hopefully they have good math teachers and realize the way you guys pronounce it is wrong.

and here i thought i was the *only* one with that pet peeve... thanks for sharing... it drives me bonkers and i'm not even a math teacher! *EVERYONE* does it now...

ROFL...I *AM* a reading/language arts/grammar teacher and this didn't bug me. ;) :lmao: :rotfl2: :goodvibes

Hello podsquad,

Wait a minute. You listen to Bawb week after week and this is the only thing that bothers you?? :eek: You have to tell me your secret. ;)