Reality Check - Am I Crazy??

Nana2Callie

DIS Veteran
I'm a beginner runner - but want to sign up for the Goofy Challenge January 2017. Am I crazy and being unrealistic in my expectations and what I can accomplish in 6 months of training. Thanks for honest comments.

I ran my first marathon with less than 6 months of training. I was 40-50 lbs over-weight and had become sedentary because of life changes (family/career). Goofy is harder than just the marathon, but not tremendously so. It probably depends on your age and physical condition going in.

I went from 10K to 5K and half to now am signed up for Dopey. I think if you train right you won't have a problem. It's not easy but definitely not out of the question.

Trust the training and take it slow. Nobody should set to PR at Goofy, the goal should always be just to finish. Outside of that you should be fine with in 6 months.

I would say it's aggressive as a new runner, but six months is definitely a good amount of time to train; however, there are many things that should factor into your decision...

- Are you good about keeping to a training schedule without missing days? If you are one that will likely miss runs due to various issues (vacation, sickness, family obligations, lack of motivation, life in general, etc), then I would take your running ramp-up a little slower. Maybe train for a 5k for 10 weeks or so, then run a 5k, then onto a 10k training plan with a goal race, then a half marathon training plan and race, and finally a marathon training plan and race. This will likely put you more on schedule for Goofy in 2018, but it gives you more time to see if you like running and how your body responds to longer distances. It will also greatly lower your probability for injury during training.