hashimotos' s and thyroid my dd age 7

tcp0421

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone. I am new to this thread never thought I would be posting on it. We found out that my DD who is 7 has hashimoto's disease along with very very hypothyroid. Her numbers are off the chart. Plus it's rare for children to have the disease she has. Anyway just wondering if anyone out there has hashimotos. She has been going threw a ton of changes and wondering if its a part of her condition. She gets very panicky in small crowded stores worries all the time about little things. Gets very uneasy when their are crowds of people around her. ( at Disney waiting in line ) forget it. She rather skip the ride. We were just at WDW this past weekend I thought if I got a GAC it would help. Let me tell you it made a whole lot of difference. Much happier time we had. No panicking unless we went into a store. We learned if my husband put her on his shoulders she was also much better. It's like she has her own space up there.

Welcome! I have a Hashimoto's Thyroiditis diagnosis and I've been dealing with hypothyroid issues since my mid-20s. I really don't think the anxiety issues are directly related to Hashimoto's, but since the thyroid controls things like stamina and tiredness it could be indirectly related. But then again it could manifest differently in someone so young. If the GAC has been helpful in the past, I wouldn't hesitate to request it again in the future if the same issues are present; since GAC isn't diagnosis-related it shouldn't matter what is the root cause of her needs. Good luck getting her thyroid levels normalized, but once that happens she should be feeling better!