GoPro'ing around the World: a ten day split stay report - VIDEO ADDED - update 10/20

CaptainCook

Mouseketeer
I've never written a Disney trip report before, but I have certainly read my fair share of them. We are back from a recent trip (8/19-8/29) so I think it's only fair that I dive in and give back to the board!

This was a family trip consisting of me (Carrie), my DH Chad, and our two kids, Liam (9) and Mallory (7). This was our third family trip to Disney. We went when the kids were 2 and 4, and again when they were 4 and 6. This time we managed to stay away for 3 whole years before coming back at the ages of 7 and 9. We say this is it for a while, but… well… we'll see. :lmao:

Here we are, on my favourite night of the trip:

On our first family trip, in 2009, we stayed at All Stars Movies. Last time we went (2011) we decided to live it up, stay at deluxe resorts for the first time, and do a split stay between WL/BC/Poly. That was so much fun that we decided to do another split stay on this trip, but at three different resorts. We did 3 nights at Animal Kingdom Lodge, 4 nights at the Boardwalk, and then 3 nights at the Contemporary. We love doing the split stays for a few different reasons. Number one, we get to check out all the fun resorts! Number two, it really cuts down on travel time. We bussed from AKL over to Animal Kingdom on this trip, but at Boardwalk we walked to Epcot and HS and at the Contemporary, well, you can't beat being just steps from the MK!

We had ten day park hopper tickets, and this time around we tried out the water parks, too.