• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

Commute to work

Princess_Ariel_5

Mouseketeer
How long is your commute to work? Currently, mine is about 5 minutes. It's not all great though. Living and working in the same neighborhood has gotten to me. I'm a teacher so I can't go anywhere without seeing kids and it's like I have no separation of home life and work life. My fiancé and I are looking to buy a house in the suburbs. One area that interests us is about 45 min away without traffic. With traffic, the commute could be over an hour. We currently work in the city together. We would be commuting together each day if we moved out to the suburbs. And eventually, we would like to work in the suburbs too.

I love the idea of living in the town we are interested in but I'm a little nervous about the commute every day.

How long do you commute to your job?

I live in the suburbs of DC. On a good day, I can get to work in exactly 36 minutes. On a bad day, it is much longer than that.

After years of doing this, I always advise to live as close to your work center as possible. Over years, a commute will steal your soul. I realize that's not true for everyone. There are folks who put a LOT of emphasis on a house and having land that, for them, it mitigates the stress of the commute. For me, that feeling only lasted about a year.

Depending on traffic, 10-15 minutes. Sometimes longer if I get stuck at every red light on the way. I don't need to be there at any specific time.

About twice a month I go to the company's main HQ, about 45 minutes away.