Between Christmas and New Year....your best tips! :)

pam66

<font color=indigo>Cue the twilight zone music!<br
Hi everyone!

We are seriously thinking of going to WDW the week between Christmas and New Year in 2019. Probably the 26th to the 30th or 31st. Not planning to stay there New Year's Eve. I know it's a crazy stupid busy time, but I am a teacher and my daughter will be in college and that is our only common time to go other than summer. We have been lucky enough to have been several times in the summer but would love to see it at Christmas once. I get that the crowds are huge but we have handled them in the summer and don't feel the need to hit all the rides this time.
So...to the point of this thread....I just would love any tips or suggestions from you all who have experienced Disney at Christmas time and what may have worked for you. Or didn't. Thanks so much!

Since you never have been, I would focus on the holiday specific offerings. Focus on the storytellers in Epcot and the Candlelight Processional. See the daytime parade at MK (it will be crowded), which is the Christmas parade. It will be crowded, so expect not to do everything, but have a plan. In the plan, set up your FP+ on the attractions you really want to see. As a family, we always go either Christmas or Thanksgiving and I still always focus on the holiday specific stuff.

Summer crowds do not equal Christmas to New Years crowds. Very, very much apples to oranges. Summer is actually sort of the "slow" season, Christmas is the busiest week of the entire year at WDW.

Having said that, go!! DW works for a school district too, so we follow that calendar. We're many time summer veterans and have done Xmas to NYE twice...2015 and just last year in 2017. We had a wonderful time.