VERY disturbing Ads…Do NOT look if you are squeamish!

buzzrelly

DIS Veteran
This came up as I was scrolling through DisBoards today…

109C2AD4-06F3-4CFD-BB7E-5FAC83B7ED0E.jpeg
109C2AD4-06F3-4CFD-BB7E-5FAC83B7ED0E.jpeg

Seriously?? Have you no control over who is “advertising” here? I am an RN and I feel sick looking at this. Do better, DisBoards.

Totally agree, just came to report the same. I also reported the ad to Google. Two weeks ago, my Disboards was repeatedly showing sexually-explicit ad content from some app called Whispers. I tried to block it, tried to report, then gave up and left the site. What is going on?

Uh, I’m not an expert but aren’t ads targeted based on that user’s searches and browsing history? So if someone is seeing disturbing or explicit ads… um…

All I’m saying is not everyone sees the same ads.

I don't think that is how ads work. Unless you have a specific company that you are showing ads for, they just use an algorithm based on your history. Since you are in the medical field, it is not surprising that you got that type of ad. Like dieumeye said, we don't all see the same ads. Get and ad blocker is my recommendation.

Uh, I’m not an expert but aren’t ads targeted based on that user’s searches and browsing history? So if someone is seeing disturbing or explicit ads… um…

I have been thinking the same. I am getting Bailey ads...much easier on the eyes (pun intended lol!)

Screenshot_20220829-045632_Chrome.jpg

I think that's a myth and I assure you I've never searched for that. I've also seen more sexually explicit ads that I've not been searching for either. I think it's random.

I have been thinking the same. I am getting Bailey ads...much easier on the eyes (pun intended lol!)

View attachment 697901

I would NOT be complaining about that!