• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Triple Amputee Needs Advice

eschwerman

Joyful @ Heart; Livin' 4 Him
This is my first time on this site! Trying to plan trip to Epcot with my husband (in 2006) who is a triple amputee confined to a wheelchair. We do travel, but there are so many unknowns at WDW. We want to stay on site--need busses w/lifts and wheelchair friendly accomidations. Need experienced suggestions.

WDW is probably the most disabled friendly place on teh face of the earth.

I have a few questions for you...

Will your husband want to use a pool while you are there? (Some are zero entry, with a water chair available.)

Will you only be visiting Epcot, or will you also be visiting MK, AK, and MGM?

What are you prepared to pay nightly for a room?

All WDW buses are equiped with WC lifts. All WDW resorts have accessible rooms with roll in showers. You can rent equipment such as lifts from local places like Walker Mobility who will deliver and pickup for you.

If you can answer the questions I posed, you'll get a WEALTH of information! :)

Anne

TKU for responding! Cost is not too much of object, but moderate is good. Do not know what else we might visit: MK, MGM (maybe?) all depending on accessability. Since buses do not appear to pose problem, our main concern is bed and commode MUST be set up for left-side transfer. Additionally, right leg is in a constant extended position. I know it's alot, but we have managed in the past.

Welcome to both DisBoards and the disABILITIES Forum.

Once you have made your reservation, contact Special (Medical) Reservations at 407-939-7807. Explain the specific room needs and reason to them. They will block out a specific room for you which meets the needs and it will be guaranteed, not just a request.