There's Got To Be A Better Way - Keeping Track Of Points

WolfpackFan

Retired and loving every minute of it!!
I hate to start off the morning complaining, but there has got to be a better way to keep track of your points than what I'm doing. I have been using CaskBill's program to plan my trips and keeping the point balances in an Excel spreadsheet. This morning DW and I started talking about perhaps doing a quick weekend in January, so I started playing around with my spreadsheet to see how the points would work out and I have to say I'm totally confused. By the time I finished, I had completely messed up my spreadsheet and have no idea what points I have. Oh well, at least I kept a backup, I'll just start all over putting in this January trip.

CaskBill - Whatever happened with the option you were going to put into your program to track points? I sure could use something more than what I have now.

I set up two checking accounts in Money for each DVC contract. When my use year month comes around it is set up to automatically deposit "points" into the account. When I make a reservation, I write a check for that many points. Got the idea from Doc here.

MSMoney works well for me to track multiple accounts and Use Years - BUT - Caskbill's tracking program is currently in beta test ( and looks GREAT ) and may be available soon.
In addition, DVC reportedly is also beta testing the ability to track account information online. Hopefully, we'll have other options soon.

You might want to give Dave Fredericksons DVC Point Manager program a try. Click here to download it. It lets you track your contracts, individual trips and lets you see what different room/view combos cost in points.

Another user of Dave's contract manager program.

I use both Caskbill's and Dave's programs. I find the first more useful for "what if" planning and the second better for tracking points and transactions.

Hey WolfpackFan,

How 'bout the Pack tonight? :cheer2: