How many ticket days for a 9 day trip?

Jperiod

I am the rebel spy!
I'm a DLR vet but I've been to WDW twice and I STILL feel like an amateur. The FP+ makes me nuts because who on earth knows where they are gonna be in 60 days?!

Our first trip was a week and we ended up EXHAUSTED because we did 6 park days in a row. It was NOT a good trip. We stayed at boardwalk, but I don't think we park-hopped much because we realized it took SO long!

Our second trip was 2 weeks and we ended up EXHAUSTED. We did 9 park days and 2 parties (so I think it was really 10 park days and we didn't even use our last day on our hopper). We stayed at Saratoga and I think we hopped ONCE, if at all.

Mind you, when we go to Disneyland, we almost always stay a week, but the parks are teeny tiny. We're out of shape and that Florida humidity killed us (we're from Phoenix!).

Ok, so with that history, help me figure out how long of a ticket to buy for our next trip. I'm stressing because if I don't get enough days now and make FP+ selections now and we upgrade our ticket while we're there, it might end up being kinda crappy (we won't do anything over 20-30 minutes).

We'll be there 9 nights and 8.5 days. We're stayed 3 days at wilderness, 3 days at boardwalk, and 3 days at animal kingdom. Our first park day is after our first night there. I'm thinking we'll be ready for a break after every 2 park days, but that puts our "free day" on the same day we're changing resorts, so no where to lounge around. I've heard it's better to actually go to a park on resort switching days. I'm thinking 6 days with no park hopper (2 AK, 2 HS, 1 MK, and 1 EP). We can't do rope drop and the parks close at 8 pm. I'm worried we'll decide we want another day somewhere, even for a few hours. But I'd rather not waste money on days I won't use!