hockeydad21

Mouseketeer
I'm going to start off by saying I'm new to the DVC owners community (in the process of purchasing a resale poly contract for 330 points closing in mid April 2023), but I am very familiar with DVC overall as I have done extensive research over the past 2-3 years.
  • Family overview - my wife and I have 2 kids (2 year old girl and 3 month old boy), and plan to occasionally have family members tag along with us from time to time.
  • Reason for joining DVC - with little kids, nap times, and just really wanting our space, we knew that staying in a villa was going to be our only realistic option moving forward. Spring 2022 we decided to stay at a Marriott 3 bedroom villa in the Disney World area, and despite loving the proximity to Disney Springs and the parks, we knew it wasn't for us. Downsides were the pools were on the boring side for kids, staff that doesn't go above and beyond for their guests, and they didn't really have anywhere to eat (not even a pool bar/restaurant) unless you wanted to cook all of your own meals or get delivery. Personally, I don't want to cook while on vacation. These factors were enough to push us in the direction of joining DVC.
So to my review...this was a complete last second trip. I was browsing confirmed reservations on the internet for fun, and I came across a 4 night stay at Saratoga Springs in a 1 bedroom villa (standard view) for $11 per point. There was only one catch...the reservation was in 3 days....and we live in Philadelphia! This would take a miracle to pull off with 2 young kids, but we found some direct flights that worked timing and price-wise, so we pulled the trigger! No days at the park, just 3.5 days hanging at the pool and enjoying the Disney bubble.