Dining on Site - too expensive?

susieh

Mouseketeer
I am just curious to understand how many people really take the majority of their meals on the Disney site? We find it far too expensive - I don't mean far too expensive to afford, I mean far too expensive to want to pay their prices.

For us the reason to buy into DVC was to be able to eat in our room if we wanted. We tend to do so for breakfasts most days and then occasionally for lunch or dinner. We've also used the fact than we can store food to make up our own packed lunches and take these to the parks etc.

Coming from the UK I like the opportunity to try different foods we see in the supermarkets etc, and different restaurants in Orlando (Ming Court is a special favourite for example) I can understand US folks not wanting to do this but even allowing for that fact don't people think the prices on site at Disney put them off from eating there too much?

Well, with us, our deal is this - I am a SAHM and I cook dinners every day. On vacation, I want to go out to dinner and have someone else make the dinner and clean the mess. I do like to have a fridge and do breakfast in the room. I am not a morning person anyhow.

I thought this in the past, but then I got a job in NYC. I started looking at the menus on allears when planning this next trip and noticed the prices were the same or less than what I pay for lunch here. But again, that is NYC prices. We are not known to be cheap either.

I guess it is all relative to what you are used to. But overall, yes, I do think they are more expensive than most places.

We live in Minneapolis and prices at WDW are comparable (a little more expensive, but not worth the quibble) to what we pay at home. We eat out. We sometimes do breakfast in the room.

By the time I pay for airfare, park tickets etc, I really don't want to waste time to save $10 - it isn't a "cost effective" savings for me to drive around Orlando to eat. We just budget for a dining.

ryanmilla said: