Cruise or DVC?

Jlo85

Mouseketeer
In the process of buying our first DVC resale at the Polynesian. Part of the thought process was to buy extra points for bringing friends and family along.

My mom is on a kick about wanting to take us on a Disney Cruise. Shes cruised, but never done Disney. We’ve never been on a cruise, much less a Disney Cruise. But when I look at the prices for taking a group of 5 (3 adults, 2 kids), it ain’t cheap. Minimum $4K. I think I would much rather buy more points with that. And with the Poly being more ‘premium’, or being able to do Hilton Head or Vero Beach, I’m wondering if a cruise can even measure up.

I know this is the DVC forum, and I’ll probably get a different response on the DCL forum. But any thoughts on this? Again, I’m a cruise and DVC novice - never done either.

DVC owner and DCL Platinum cruiser. If your mom wants to take you on a cruise, I think you should let her! I’m a grandmother, and taking our DS’s family on a 3-4 night DCL has given us many extra special memories.

Do you want your mother to buy you points with the money?

DVC owner and DCL Platinum cruiser. If your mom wants to take you on a cruise, I think you should let her! I’m a grandmother, and taking our DS’s family on a 3-4 night DCL has given us many extra special memories.

Do you want your mother to buy you points with the money?
Thanks! Yea I was more thinking she could buy the family points instead, but I just wasn’t sure whether the cruise was worth it. I think we’ll let her do the cruise.

I’ve never been on a Disney cruise because they are so expensive. However I’ve been on Royal Caribbean and Norwegian and had a very nice time on both lines. If someone was offering to take me on a Disney Cruise I would definitely let them. Especially if I had little kids.

You could always buy the points and use them towards a cruise with a swap.