Canon Digital Rebel (Not XT!)

WillCAD

Where there's a Will there's a way
I just bought a Digital Rebel, after 2 years of drooling over them and hoping the prices would come down.

I'm not a newcomer to photography, or to digital, or even to Canon, for that matter, but since I'm just starting out with this camera, I figured a thread discussing its relative merits, along with any tips and tricks that Digital Rebel owners might have, might be a good idea.

So let's have it, the good, the bad, the ugly, and the pretty - what do you know about my new camera?

My husband bought me the EOS Digital Rebel back in the summer of 2003 as a belated wedding present. I still don't know how all the functions work but I love it!!! My husband doesn't care for it too much as it's much simpler than his (he's got the EOS1, EOS10D, and EOS20D). My friend has the film version and she too loves it. The only downside to this model is that since it's so much lighter than the rest of the EOS line it flexes when you put a heavier lense on it. If you are really into cameras than it's masterable in days. I've had it for over 2 years now and have been very satisfied with it. :cool1:

My favorite lense is the 24-85mm but I'm pretty happy with the kit lense too. A nice feature of it is being able to shoot in RAW and then edit in photoshop (as well as Elements). I have taken this camera on trips everywhere (WDW, Hawaii, Camping, snow, etc) and it has yet to fail me.

Have fun playing with your new camera. Did you get the silver body or black body? I've been after hubby to buy me the black body after we read that it was coming out last year.

I've also had mine for about 2yrs now. I've made 3 trips to WDW, numerous trips to Atlanta and all over New England with it. The camera has taken some really great pictures and the ones that weren't so good were my fault alone.