Best resort choice

StarlitNight05

DIS Veteran
I am in the very initial planning stages for a WDW trip in late 2020 (or early 2021). I am a DLR vet and have always wanted to experience WDW. Unfortunately, the laid back DLR style of planning has spoiled me. At the moment, one of the most perplexing issues I am having is picking from one of the many onsite resorts. I've read a few blogs like DisneyTouristBlog for some insights, but I'd love to hear from the expert DISers on this matter.

Here is some info for context, and our general "wants":
  • It'd be just me and DH. We are in our early 30s and want more of an adult vibe.
  • Looking for deluxe or moderate recommendations. This will probably be a once-in-a-lifetime trip (we are from California), so I'm leaning toward the deluxe route.
  • We do enjoy our cocktails, so it'd be nice to have a resort with good bar options.
  • We also like having good food options. We are vegetarians, so it'd be nice to have a wider variety of foods.
  • As a DLR vet, the transportation system kind of scares me at WDW. I'd prefer a less stressful experience if possible.
  • I prefer a king bed
  • Pools are not very important to us.
All thoughts are welcome! Thanks all :-)

Last edited:
I am in the very initial planning stages for a WDW trip in late 2020 (or early 2021). I am a DLR vet and have always wanted to experience WDW. Unfortunately, the laid back DLR style of planning has spoiled me. At the moment, one of the most perplexing issues I am having is picking from one of the many onsite resorts. I've read a few blogs like DisneyTouristBlog for some insights, but I'd love to hear from the expert DISers on this matter.

Here is some info for context, and our general "wants":
  • It'd be just me and DH. We are in our early 30s and want more of an adult vibe.
  • Looking for deluxe or moderate recommendations. This will probably be a once-in-a-lifetime trip (we are from California), so I'm leaning toward the deluxe route.