Alaska thoughts

gayleaboone

Earning My Ears
Hello--

I am new to the discussions, but several of you have sent messages asking about my Alaska trip (7/22-7/29). I went with my 9 yr old daughter and we had an amazing time!!!!!! I am happy to answer any questions. Also, I am posting below some information that I sent a friend who is going on this week's Alaska adventure:

"Some thoughts:

1. We had a great group: 2 nine year old girls; one 11 yr old girl; three 11 yr old boys; one 13 yr old girl; one 16 yr old girl; and a set of 4 yr old twins. So plenty of kids. The guides said there have been plenty of kids on all of the tours.

2. There were lots of nice adults, too: two sets of mom and dad; one set of grandparents; two single moms (including me); one grandmother alone with her grandson; and three couples without children.

3. Our guides were great and well informed: Jesse and Rae. If you have the same guides pls tell them hello for us!

4. We had very cool weather and we loved it!!!!! We did not have the gloriously sunny weather that other disboard members had, but it did not really seem to matter. The weather was sometimes sunny, sometimes drizzly, and sometimes cloudy. It never got above 60 degrees, but the air was so refreshing that it was marvelous to experience the cooler temperatures. We had our windows open every night! It has made Texas seem dreadfully hot and oppressive.

5. Clothes: We brought layers of clothing as suggested and that worked well. Mostly we wore a t-shirt, pants or jeans, and carried a fleece jacket and rain jacket with us. Some people brought fleece vests and that seemed a good idea because when hiking you had your arms free and didn't get too warm.

But most importantly bring gloves and a hat for the Kenai boat trip. I would also suggest that you bring 2 sets of gloves for younger kids---one set may get wet and you may need them for the next day.