2 person Scooter

Status
Not open for further replies.

SUSANMELODY

Mouseketeer
Hello All. I am a travel agent booking a trip for a client who would like to rent a 2 person motorized wheelchair/scooter for his wife while in Disney. I have not found any information regarding a 2 person motorized scooter. I was hoping a DIS'er could help. Thank you...Susan

pretty sure there is no such animal.. any scooters are one person only, NO passengers allowed.. . there are no tandem scooters. or wheelchairs of that matter. they would each need to rent their own scooter if unable to manually push themselves around.

Is he looking for an addendant run power chair/scooter or a modified power chair with a drop-down compainion seat? My power chair has a custom pull-our extra seat for kiddos to sit next to me when not moveing(also can be attached over the batteries on the back of my chair for bigger kids).Most of this sort of thing is done for disabled parents and cost way to much safety wise to be on a rental.

I don't think there is such a thing.

Actually, they do exist. See, for example, http://mobility-scooter-reviews.com/blog/evrider-royale-4-dual-seat-two-person-mobility-scooter.

But here's the problem: The ADA generally requires mobility devices to be no larger than 30" by 48" and weigh no more than 600 pounds (when occupied).

This scooter is too long and too heavy (unless the passengers are emaciated) to meet ADA standards, so if I understand how the law works, Disney wouldn't be required to allow it in the parks.

And it's hard to imagine that any other two-person scooter would meet ADA requirements.

Hello All. I am a travel agent booking a trip for a client who would like to rent a 2 person motorized wheelchair/scooter for his wife while in Disney. I have not found any information regarding a 2 person motorized scooter. I was hoping a DIS'er could help. Thank you...Susan