• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Yoga...anyone done it?

cinmell

DIS Veteran
Hi everybody! Has anyone tried yoga? If so, did you like it and do you feel like it helped you get in shape? I've tried Pilates which was hard! I'm going to try it again but I was wondering if I should try my hand at yoga too. Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!

I've been doing yoga for about 9 years now. I started out with a book and some video tapes then I started taking a class. I would read up on it first as there are many different styles of yoga( I do Kundalini Yoga - classic stretching postures & breathing exercises combined with chanting and meditation ). I would also try out different classes untill you find the right one. I think it's really important to take at least a few classes before trying it on your own as the teacher can help you do the poses right-they can be hard to figure out from a tape or book.

Thanks for you advice! I bought a dvd yesterday but maybe I'll look into classes now.

are to go to the library and pick up some yoga workouts to try. I have been practicing yoga once or twice a week since Jan. I really like it and can finally tell a difference in my flexibility. Now when I don't I feel tight and I miss it!

Denise Austin and Kathy Smith both have good pilates with lots of instructions so I would think a yoga one by them would be good for learning the poses too. I also go to the Y for a basic yoga and that's really where I learned the poses.

Most of all - give it a few weeks before deciding how well you like it. It takes a bit to learn the poses and strengthen up to be able to hold them.