Xmas/New Year

MaleDisneyBeliever

DIS Veteran
Hi folks,

I'm considering my first Disney trip over a festive period this year. I'm thinking about 3 nights from the 30th December, and taking in New Years. I have no experience whatsoever for this time of year, so have several questions, and hope my fellow DISers can help.

1. When is the best time to make the booking? I know when the prices are due, but does history show a better time to book? Is there likely to be any offers, of will I just have to make do with shareholders reduction?

2. Will I be expected to purchase a ticket for New years Eve? Assuming they stay open late and celebrate? Will my standard ticket be ok, or do they work to a similar plan to that of Halloween parties?

3. What are crowds like?

4. Is everything open or are there more closures, whether it be rides, stalls, shops or restaurants?

Thanks guys!
Ryan

Its very very very busy during this period.

You dont need a seperate ticket for New Years Eve - there are fireworks etc but it is usually heaving and lots of people who've been there on New Years Eve have said they wouldnt do it again.

Everything is open as usual including restaurants but be warned some of them have very expensive menus on that evening

It is very very very busy on New Years Eve and bitterly cold as well!! There are so many people trying to get warm that its near nigh impossible to sit down anywhere to eat anything or drink anything hot!! Ride queues were around 2-3 hours wait and in the freezing cold thats not much fun! From memory all of the rides were open apart from some of the kiddie rides.

The table service restaurants have an expensive menu for that evening, so if you are looking for something not so pricy it is counter service I am afraid, also the hotels have expensive menus too.