WWYD? Tent camping or Class C rv with 2 small kids? (pics of your tent-only site?)

Traveling with carseat kids, WWYD

• Drive to WDW 17 hrs in Class C rv

• Drive to WDW in our car, tent camp at FW, get DDP

• Fly to WDW, tent camp, take camp cooking gear

Results are only viewable after voting.

dreambound

Lover of sugar-coated sugar-filled sugar
Some of you may be familiar with my dilema regarding safely transporting our 2 kids for 17 hours to WDW. We're total newbies to RVing of any kind, so I wasn't aware of the safety issues regarding children and rv's. (These are carseat-aged children.)

What I'm debating now is:

Still get the rv and drive to WDW (17 hours)

or

Fly to WDW and tent camp

or

Drive to WDW and tent camp and get the DDP

If you have pics of your campsite set up, that would be really helpful! I want to show DH that it isn't exactly the primitive, hiking to 9000ft camping that he is accustomed to.

Sheer honesty is really helpful. If your thinking is, "Don't change your plans, the kids will be perfectly safe in the motor home" then I want to hear that. If your thinking is, "Motor home travel is just not safe for little kids" then I want to hear that too.

This will be Dec.8-18th.

Thanks for all of the help. I know I'm being an obsessive DISer, but I am going on this trip some way or another!

Meg

We just came home from tent camping yesterday at the Fort Wilderness and it was so hot. We took a 5 yr old and he was cranky from the heat and trying to keep him busy and not to disturb the other campers was a problem. Only when we were at the parks was it okay. And if you need to bring the kids back for a rest, the tents heat up during the day and do not cool down until dark. I would advise a camper with A/C with small children and if it has a bathroom, but the showers at the camp were very nice.:Pinkbounc