Which Disneyland hotel is the best & why???

Lives4Disney

DIS Veteran
Hi, I am a WDW veteran of close to 40 trips, but never been to DL and we are thinking of going over the July 4th holiday (July 1 - July 9). I turn 40, and my husband and daughter both have their bdays on July 1. :sunny: We wanted to do something special (well, I do anyway ;) )

I am not too overly crazy about the look of the GC - It is beautiful, but it reminds me of home (same colors, style etc although my home isn't "Grand"!)

The Disneyland hotel looks kind of cute and fun and Disneyish, but is it deluxe or would I feel like I should have done the GC for a deluxe stay? I would prefer concierge, too at either hotel - anybody love concierge at either (or hate it)?? :confused3

Any comparisons of the GC and DL hotel pools?? My kids are 6, 9, and 15. Good slides at both??

Anybody with some good or awful DL hotel or GC hotel experiences care to share?? I am starting from square one. Got my Birmbaum book and my Unnoficial Guide, too, but I am feeling overwhelmed and of course don't want to make the wrong choice and be disappointed.

AND MOST OF ALL :blush: - Do you think the parks will be so crowded and hot that it will be a bust of a trip and maybe we should just go another time?? I kind of gave up considering WDW for this trip as my husband really does not tolerate heat too well. Any advice is welcome and appreciated. :)

THANKS for sharing!

Lives4Disney :goodvibes

The Grand Californian is a wonderful hotel that compares to the Wilderness Lodge and The Animal Kingdom Lodge. The size of the rooms is the same and they are decorated nicely, but the location is better than any of the WDW hotels in comparison to their parks. We could be from our room at the GC into DCA in a minute to a minute and a half. The walk to Disneyland is a bit longer.