Walt Disney World vs Disneyland for noobs

tgbanks3

Mouseketeer
A little about me: 40 year old, married man with 4 kids ages 15, 13, 7, and 5. First trip to Walt Disney World was when I was 7 or 8. I remember my dad telling me about the flying trains (monorails) that would take us to the park. Went back to back years and loved it. But for various reasons, did not go back until I graduated high school. Made the first trip with my new family about 8 years ago. It was a short trip and wasn’t the best experience as we did no planning beforehand. Fast forward to 2 years ago and we finally took a well-planned, week-long trip. And it was amazing. And we’ve been back 3 times since then. I had never been to Disneyland and had always wanted to go to the park that started it all. And we were finally able to make that happen last week. For any of you others that are wondering whether or not to make the trip, wonder no more. Do it. It was awesome. And for anyone that may not have much knowledge of the park on the West Coast, I thought I’d give a brief synopsis of my thoughts upon returning.

Disneyland:

Same attractions:

Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters – Pretty similar but give the edge to DL given that you can take the guns out of holster

Haunted Mansion – Toss up but nostalgia pushes WDW over the edge. There were some differences but not enough IMO to really push one over the other unless you’re a big fan of the Hatbox Ghost or southern plantation homes

It’s a small world – Again, not much different other than some Disney IP in DL and it’s longer. But the façade clearly pushes DL into the winner’s circle. It’s beautiful.

Jungle Cruise – Rode it at night. It’s a push. Can’t think of anything that would push one over the other.

Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh – WDW wins solely due to the “bouncing” when you reach Tigger.