Update on Airport Security Proceedures?

Laz

DIS Veteran
What is the latest rules on security proceedures at airports? I recently read that they were going to start searching ALL luggage (checked and unchecked). Is this true? I also heard that business travelers were getting special passes to aviod security. If this is true this is very unfair for the leisure traveler! After all, I am an American by birth, why should I be discriminated against because I don't fly for business or as frequently? I will gladly allow any prescreening to get the pass. As a teacher, I already have an extensive search done to get my license. Any info would be appreciated.

That is a new one to me. I would think if you went to your airline's web site they would tell you what will be required.
BTW, it really does not matter what screening you went through to become a teacher, even high level military has to submit to searches if their number comes up.
When you buy the ticket it is a tacit agreement to go with the rules.

Certain airlines have started programs whereby their "elite" frequent travelers (and in some cases people holding first and business class tickets) would be directed to a separate security checkpoint where the lines are shorter. They will still be subjected to the same security requirements that everybody else is, they will just go through a separate line. Although I have not tried this yet, I'm led to believe that there is no noticable difference for leisure travelers. I don't think this is at all unfair to leisure travelers as "elite" frequent flyers give a significant amount of business to the airline (usually at least 50,000 miles per year) at the higher full fares (not the often discounted leisure fares), so I think a perk like this is not unreasonable.

BTW, I occasionally travel for business and have been subjected to the random liggage searches. Once you are by security, everybody is treated the same regarding random searches.