Two Weeks at Disney with a 3.5 yo, 1.5 yo and one in the cooker!

archangelus2

Earning My Ears
3yeBW9SnU_TZdSuVp9IIcPUvs5CQFJ_583bwO93SfJDErUBbPbxO1WjmMbIqGaYbEwqxIIR7mT3AT_6BhGrLDlQ-Ql60_tA6l6mFA9QYOYKMJdIERK-SXyfJFO3w7G6pAW0fiPOS

Introduction

This is a trip report for the first Disney World trip for our young family. I spent about 6 months of reading message boards, books and blogs preparing for this trip. For me, the planning is literally half the fun. I am a computer engineer so this report won’t be quite as fluffy and a little more analytical than most you read. I am a huge theme park nut and have always appreciated Disney’s attention to detail. My first trip to WDW was when I was 12 with a couple trips to Disneyland in my early 20’s. I’m writing this for my own record and to share it with a group who can appreciate it as much as I do. I really look forward to some discussion on it as I’ve pretty much worn out everybody I know in the real world.

The Crew

• Me (Dad) - 29
  • Mom - 28, 28 weeks pregnant with kiddo #3 at start of trip.
  • Older Son - 3.5 years old, under 40”
  • Younger Son - 1.5 years old

Indoctrination: For the 6 months leading up to the trip we had movie night each week where we watched just about every major Disney movie with our son, I also added the big songs from each movie to a playlist we would listen to in the car. This was really a good idea and I think made our oldest son much more appreciative and engrossed in the characters and rides. It was also fun to rewatch some I hadn’t seen in a long time as an adult and see how they rated with my current tastes. Pinocchio could never be released today. Beauty and the Beast is probably my favorite to rewatch as an adult as I can appreciate just the general work of art it is as a whole.

Strategy