Trips Without Maxpass?

Discussion in 'Disneyland (California)' started by disneymouse16, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. disneymouse16

    disneymouse16 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    I see a lot of people loving Maxpass. How has Maxpass effected touring if you don't use it? We have a trip coming up March 14-16 in the parks. We are going to stick to the old way of touring with some rider swap since we have a number of little kids with us. Do passes go a lot faster with Maxpass now in effect? Any experiences without Maxpass?

    Just trying to set expectations!
     
    SeiterClan likes this.
  2. tnzzz

    tnzzz Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    We didn’t use maxpass every day of our trip in September, and managed fine without it. However, we did 4 full days in the park, plus a half day, and so we weren’t trying to hit all the headliners in one day. I think that made a difference. If you are taking your time and not in a rush to do most rides each day, I would say you will be fine without maxpass. I don’t know if fast passes run out quicker, it’s possible, but I don’t think there is a significant difference.
    I will say that I definitely prefer to use Maxpass for it’s convenience (no need for a runner to get paper FP is great) but it isn’t a necessity. Also consider getting it at least for one person on days you may want Photopass photos taken, as that’s the cheapest way to use that service.
     
  3. Avatar

    Advertisement


  4. Bossy22

    Bossy22 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    If you have smaller kids I think Max pass is a waste of money (I mean if you're loaded it probably still is nice as its convenient). We went for 5 days but as we like all the rides and shows and not just the headliners (fastpass rides) we found normal fastpasses worked just as well as usual for us.
     
  5. Geemo

    Geemo DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,165
    Make sure to hit rope drop.
    Go weekdays. March 14-16 will be a little busier due to the lead up to St.Patrick's Day.
    Prepare for crowds as locals filter into the parks after school and work through the week.

    Have fun

    Geemo
     
    smartlabelprint likes this.
  6. Meriweather

    Meriweather Being a Nana is my superpower

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    304,425
    I have Max Pass, only used it for Photopass. It was fine. Good think, because I could never get internet in the parks, or at my resort. It was horrible!!
     
  7. smartlabelprint

    smartlabelprint DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,840
    I have toddlers and we’re getting it. We can’t waste time running around the park getting fp. We only get a good 4-6 hours of rides a day.
     
  8. finchy3

    finchy3 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    We won't be getting it when we go in August, but we are there for 10 days so don't feel the need.
     
  9. BirdsSingWords

    BirdsSingWords ...and the Flowers Croon

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    363
    Just did a January 3-6 trip and used traditional FP and good planning only. Had one MM with our four-day tickets, got there for rope drop all other days, took a break for a nap during peak crowd times, and closed the place down nightly. Worked well for us. With a group of 6, MaxPass was just plain cost prohibitive.
     
    smartlabelprint likes this.
  10. disneymouse16

    disneymouse16 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Great to here people are still having great success without buying Maxpass! Thanks!
     
  11. DizMe

    DizMe Here we gooooo...

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5,322
    I went in early October and again 2nd week of Dec. and didn't use it. We were all adults, go multiple times/year and weren't worried about hitting every ride. Nevertheless, we did all of the major rides anyway and it wasn't even difficult. For us in that situation, MaxPass just isn't necessary. I also have an AP that already gives me photopass.
     

Share This Page