• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Town Car plus golf cart or rental car?

texmom

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting and hope someone can help. We will be at Disney from Dec. 7-15th, splitting our time between Fort Wilderness Cabins and the Polynesian. I currently have rental car ressies, but am considering switching to a town car so that I can afford to get a golf cart for our four days at Fort Wilderness. The cost should be about the same for either option.

Which option would you all choose? We have three kids ages 9, 6, and 5 (not great on endurance for walking). We are planning on park hopping, but not doing too much resort to resort travel. There will be one day where my DD and I will be apart from the men all day, as we are having a "mommy-daughter day" to celebrate DD's birthday. We have never stayed at FW before and have heard mixed things about transportation there.

Any help will be much appreciated...thanks!!!!

It's hard for me to say how it would be with kids, but we did it with just hubby and I once, using a towncar and golf cart, and it was great! I got a really super rate on a wilderness home that we just couldn't pass up. The only headache was waiting for the WDW van to take us to our home after we had checked in (the towncar dropped us off at the front, and then you wait for the van to get you). That wait was LONG, but after that things ran very smoothly. We used a golf cart for internal transportation and the WDW buses and boats for anything else. I was wondering how the bus service would be, since FW seems to be geared for people with cars, but I must say that it was great. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there and not bother with a car.
Barb
Visit the Platinum Castaway Club at: www.castawayclub.com