tell me it's possible

pixxi

Mouseketeer
I'm not a runner but wanted to motivate myself and challenge myself. About 7 years ago I signed up and did a triathalon without and prior training and my goal was to finish. I did!

So, I signed up for the Glass Slipper Challenge to again motivate and challenge myself. I work in a hospital and walk 12 hours during the day. The walking doesn't bother me. Now that I'm trying to walk fast to see where my min/mile time is I have horrible shin splints and ankle pains. They go away when I stop walking, if I stretch when I'm walking it's worse (feels like it's burning).

I have bought new shoes, KT tape, compression stockings and it's a little better to start with but when I did a jog/walk app after the 2nd jog portion my shins killed and then I started walking like I was stomping the ground. I was able to keep walking the 1.5 miles but at a slow pace. I'm able to walk a 16 min. mile....exactly on time so no extra leeway...yet. But I'm not walking more than 1-1.5 miles a few times a day when I'm not working.

Does anyone else have a similar story and overcame the problem? I'm starting to feel defeated before I even really start. I do think I have beginning arthritis and just bought some Tylenol arthritis to try before. I just saw a rheumatoid doctor who said my hip's were like a 60-70 yr old (arthritic looking without a lot of cushioning) and I'm 41. Since all the other labs were fine he's going with diffuse pain and wanting to treat me for fibromyalgia. I feel more stiff in the joints, so I'm not sure that's right.

I don't want to loose out of the money but I also want to enjoy the experience of a Disney run, I do have time but I'm just worried. I'm 5'2" so I feel like I'm taking 4 steps to other peoples 1 step.