Teacher Participation......

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackJack08

DIS Veteran
Just wondering what some of your thoughts are on this......

Our Parent School Association, held a halloween dance at our elementary school a few weeks ago. It was well attended by students and their parents. However, the only three teachers that attended were there as parents and NOT teachers. Are we, as a parent organization asking too much of our teachers, by wanting them to attend a two hour after school function?? They were not asked to work or chaperone at all, just to come out and share in some school spirit. I realize contractually they are not obligated but how do we expect students to attend such fundraisers, if the teachers won't even attend?? Maybe I'm off base.........:confused3

As a teacher, I just have to say that I can't make everything. We do a ton of stuff that parents don't see that occurs after hours. Plus, depending on the timing, many teachers don't have anyone to watch their own kids for things like this. Typically, these things also end up being mini parent-teacher conferences when teachers are there, which is hard when you are not prepared and not in a place to do that. It's just really hard for a teacher. I can understand your side as well, since I am a parent, too and have only been a teacher a few years. But, teachers do so much work at home and on weekends, that it's really hard for them to attend other events- mainly because it's more time away from families. I am away from my family, or working so not involved with them, more now than when I had a corporate job that had me working many more hours in the office. Plus, I'm not really sure why you'd want the teachers there- just to stand there? If they are not paying to come, it doesn't help your fund for them to be there, so they'd be just there. If they are expected to pay, then think about all the money they already put into the school and do not get reimbursed for. As much as I love my school,