Support for a newly married Army wife

Beastlover

When leaving a room, make it dramatic...use Jazz h
I am new to the United We Stand board, I thought I should come here in support of not just who entered my life, but in all of you who are going through the same situation.

There is a girl in my life, who me and my DH have "adopted" into our family. She met a great guy, and they got married sat. 6/24. The morning after he had to fly back to his base (Washington State) and prepare to be shipped out. He is in the Army (not sure-a Ranger???) His parents are in Jersey, wonderful people, but also far away. She is all alone, trying to build their life, so when he comes home in Oct. everything is ready for them.

She feels very alone, and overwhealmed. We spoke on the phone last night and I really worry about her. She is looking for an apartment to rent in the interim around our home in McHenry, IL as a short-term rental until housing comes thru in Wash. for them. At that time she will move there.

Anybody in either McHenry, IL area or Washington area that can lend some support for her? Any advice? I feel so helpless for her, anything would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for listening and God Bless

Unfortunately, I'm on the opposite side of the state, about 6 hours away...
I can offer a little advice though -

Every base should have some type of support system for her to look in to. They specialize in young families and deployments.

Base housing should also be available to lend them a hand in searching for housing on or off base.

Military communities are usually very accepting and supportive, as we are all in the same boat, so to speak. Tell her not to be afraid to ask for help from the different systems set up to help military spouse/families.

Deployments are rough. Being there to listen and as her friend will be the biggest support of all!:)