SB- Power Layout....what do you think?

Lesley

DIS Veteran
It seems that most of you are familiar with CM...and I assume familiar with the concept of power layout (where you lay out an entire album at one time....supposed to be time saving I guess...plus give you better organization of the album)

I just did a power layout of my ds's first 18 months and I'm in the process of putting it together. I'm trying to decide if I want to try doing power layout again in the future. The process just seems so different when I have all my pics and paper and stuff picked out ahead of time....it feels less creative, though I'm actually giving the pages more attention than I would if I were going one by one just trying to get them done.

I have in the past done sort of a mini power layout....setting up 4-6 pages of an event before actually doing the assembly. This seemed to work well for me.

Any thoughts? What other approaches do you use?

Lesley-

I'm not too good at the power layout thing. I tend to try to get either too creative or stuck on an idea. I am a former CMC, so I am familiar with it. I keep my pictures, memoribilia, paper, stickers etc... in those top loading sleeve protector things from the office supply store in a 3 ring binder in the order I would like them to go in my albums. Then as I get new pictures developed, by new sb stuff, I add them at the back. When I have a chance to crop or go to a crop, I just grab that binder (already has everything inside)my album pages, tools and go. I get a lot done that way, because it is all set up ahead of time. Also if I have a layout idea or title or journaling idea, I jot it down and stick it in there as well. This is what works best for me. I also think it depends on what kind of album you are working on and how much time you want to spend with each page. I complete my whole page at one sitting. I don't return later to journal. Anyway, hope you find a method that works best for you too!
Happy Scrappin'
Candi