running shoes - how many pairs

Nana2Callie

DIS Veteran
Just curious... as I'm getting into running. How many pairs of running shoes do you own and how often do you switch them out? Also, how do you find a good "running shoe" store? We live in small town America.

Hey! There is a great running thread that is very supportive and informative

I have been running for a little over 3 years. I started with 1 pair of shoes. We have a great local running store that fitted me. I now have up to 3 shoes in rotation during marathon training season. Everyone is different, but my shoes last approximately 300-350 miles. I use Garmin Connect (my running watch is a Garmin) to track my shoe mileage. I believe Strava also has a show tracker too.

Just curious... as I'm getting into running. How many pairs of running shoes do you own and how often do you switch them out? Also, how do you find a good "running shoe" store? We live in small town America.

At most points, I am rotating two pair of running shoes (basically just alternate between shoes). Similar to @ebradley23, I use Garmin Connect to track the mileage and usually get about 350 miles per pair.

Also, I use Road Runner Sports (http://www.roadrunnersports.com/) and order my shoes online, unless I need to test shoes out when I use a local running store.

I rotate 3 or 4 pair at one time, tracking mileage for each to 300 then I go by feel. I never wear the same pair two days/runs in a row.

I use one for running and one for cross training but I also don't run two days in a row.