OT: Need ideas for winter birthday party

ryan840

DIS Veteran
Next week is my baby's first birthday party and I have no experience whatsoever with winter parties for kids. It's a Blue's Clues theme, most of the kids there will be 2-4 yrs old. I have sledding as an option but it doesn't look like the snow will stick around, so I have to come up with some other ways to entertain them. I thought about playing Blue's Clues but given the particular crowd I don't think it'd go too well... Maybe it would, I don't know. What would we figure out anyway :confused: :rotfl: My oldest was born in August, I can throw a killer summer party but this is all foreign to me! HELP! Thanks in advance!

PS- The party will likely last several hours, it's all family and we don't see each other often due to distance, so having it last just a couple of hours is out.

Since it's a family party, you won't have to plan every minute. - The cousins will probably just like playing with each other the way they normally do when you get together (which I know you said isn't often, so they probably don't get sick of each other quickly) and the adults will want to chat and catch up with each other's lives.

I would make sure to have at least one active and one passive activity for the kids - sledding is great if the snow sticks around. Maybe "puppy tag" if it doesn't and you have the space indoors - whoever is it is "Blue" and each person they catch becomes another puppy. - Lots of barking and happy kids.

For the quiet activity, maybe blues clues coloring books or paint-with-water (do they still make those? - where the color is on the page, and the kids wet it to make it show.) Or collages of blue things cut from magazines. (Just give the little ones upside-down contact paper if you want to avoid glue.)