Northern Plains or Southwest first?

Donald is #1

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone! I am thinking about doing a National Parks trip for my non-Disney trip next year. I have been toying between Mt Rushmore/area parks/maybe Glacier and Grand Canyon/Bryce/Zion. I would love to see both areas and one of my friends went out to Mt Rushmore this past May and had great time. I would probably take her itinerary and then maybe add a week to go to Glacier. On the other hand I would love to see the Southwest also.

So I was thinking about doing these trips over 2 calendar years but within 1 rolling year so that an annual pass would cover both. My current thoughts are:
Trip #1 - Last week of May '10 and first week of June
Trip #2 - Early May '11

So besides any advice that people would love to give, my question is:
Is there one of these options that wouldn't be as good at the beginning of May as it would at the end?

Thanks

I'm no expert, but I think a lot of Glacier is still closed in early May due to snow, so I guess I would go with the Grand Canyon in early May. You might even run into snow in early June, I don't know if it is enough to close the "Going to the Sun" road or not.

Have fun, I have looked at vacationing at both of these places too.........some day.

So I was thinking about doing these trips over 2 calendar years but within 1 rolling year so that an annual pass would cover both. My current thoughts are:
Trip #1 - Last week of May '10 and first week of June
Trip #2 - Early May '11

So besides any advice that people would love to give, my question is:
Is there one of these options that wouldn't be as good at the beginning of May as it would at the end?

Thanks

Hi Donald,

We're sort of in the middle of your rolling 2 year plan at the moment!