No FP, No ADRs, No Kids! A semi-live report

Colleen27

DIS Veteran
Well, this is a change of pace; I'm sitting in the Flint (Michigan) airport waiting for my flight, not juggling bags and snacks and kids but just sipping coffee and playing on my laptop. A girl could seriously get used to this!

With time to spare and enough peace to entertain a coherent thought even at this obscenely early hour, I got to thinking...

Why not start a trip report?

The gate agent just announced that boarding will begin in a few minutes, so I'll give the Cliff Notes version of the background to this trip before I head for the plane.

I'm a full time college student, majoring in journalism. The Society of Professional Journalists is holding their annual convention in Orlando this weekend, and the student rate for the conference is a great deal. That was excuse enough for me to plan a trip!

This is a different kind of trip, though. With my days occupied off-site at the conference I didn't want "appointments" cluttering up my Disney time, so I have no FPs, no ADRs, and no firm plans of any sort. I intend to enjoy flying by the seat of my pants without kids or a husband in tow wanting to know when we're going to hit their favorites.

Up next... When I land in Orlando I'll post a quick run-down of how I expect I'll be spending the next five days.

Sounds like fun! Have a great trip - look forward to reading your updates!

The plane landed at 9:55, a few minutes ahead of schedule, and as soon as I turned my phone back on I got the text that my room is ready. Sweet!

Of course the first thing I did was head to PortOrleans.org and look up the room number on their building maps. I've got a corner room in building 7 at Port Orleans French Quarter, which means my only request was granted.