Newcomer 2 home resort question

cberry

Earning My Ears
I am new to disneyinfo but not new to DVC (1994 was first purchase). I have 300 points in total but they are split between OKW and BW (OKW was sold out when we wanted to add more points.) While we love DVC, having two home resorts stinks. Because we only want to stay in one resort (we tried moving mid-week - what a disaster!), we have to book 11 months ahead using home resort points and then gamble that we can get the remaining days using our "non-home" resort 4 months later. We are wondering if anyone has a way around this problem short of constantly borrowing points.

We are close to trying to sell all of our points and simply buy another 300 at one resort. Any suggestions??

Which resort do you prefer? I would keep the one you like and sell the other. Small contracts seem to be in demand and having two at the same place won't hurt you (hopefully they could be the same use year). I guess it depends how many you have at each resort. Maybe you could find a member who would buy your BW add on so you don't have to pay a commission and then look for an OKW small contract. It could take a while, but maybe it would be worth it to you in the long run?

Thanks for the advice. I have 150 points each at OKW and BW each with a June use year. Could I sell the BW points (since it seems so much easier to get reservations at OKW), and buy more OKW points through this forum or would you suggest I go through one of the time share resale agents?

The cost to do what you propose is significant. If you simply sold one contract at BW and bought another at OKW for the same 150 pts, you're likely looking at around $2000 extra cost just to get back where you are now. Why not just alternate points usage when you can't do the 7 months window by using banking and borrowing.