• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

NEW, non-owner, need suggestions for Dec for 4

jeffberk

Earning My Ears
Hi,
Im new at this and just learned about "renting" points yesterday. So here's the questions:
1) any suggestions on where to stay if we are most interested in the Animal King. and Epcot?;
2) is it too late for December 17-23 (we need 4-5 days in that range).
3) how does a DVC room differ from a hotel room at a typical Disney resort? We've stayed in Port Orleans many years ago I think.
4) any special suggestions for a famly with a 10 and 17 yr old?
thanks much for helping out a newbe
Jeff

1)the AK is bus transportation only - so the resort doesn't matter.

Epcot - you can walk to Epcot from both BCV and BWV.

that say.

2) don't know - will check later if no one else does.

3)the studios at BWV/BCV is one queen bed and a double sleeper sofa.

the studio at OKW is two queen beds.

they differ from POR besides the size of the bed, they have a balcony, micowave, under the counter refrigerator, toaster, coffee-maker, plus 4 glasses, 2 coffee mugs, enough papper stuff for at least one meal.

the POR has 2 double beds.

4) teens seem to like BWV.

I just called member services (MS) and the only DVC resort with availability during your time-frame (12/17-12/23) is SSR (Saratoga Springs Resort and Spa). They have a studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom available so you could take your pick. You can always get one of these reserved and then ask the DVC member to put you on a waitlist for any or all of the remaining resorts.

DVC resort rooms are MUCH different than the typical hotel room.

The studios come with the following:

Kitchenette with microwave, mini-refrigerator, wet bar and coffee maker
Queen-size bed
Double-size sleeper sofa
TV
Private porch or balcony