My Real Welcome Home Trip - Copper Creek

jimmymc

Professional Adventurer!
After being a DVC member for just over a year, I finally got my real welcome hope trip to Wilderness Lodge! Despite never staying there, I took the plunge into ownership based on the prior visits to the lobby and restaurants, photos and videos online, and reviews from other owners. I also knew I wanted a longer expiration date, so when a contract came up for a great deal on resale I decided it was worth the investment. And after this trip, I'm very happy with the decision.

20220417_002152.jpg

Day 1 - Travel and Epcot

The day starts just before leaving home. After waking up and packing the car, I logged on to Genie+ to make some reservations. It's my first time using it, and especially for Epcot I wanted to make sure I got some good reservations. I also won't be in the park until about 1 pm, so it's a good chance to book a popular ride later in the day. I lucked out and was able to get two near perfect times: Remy's Ratatouille Adventure at 2:50 and Frozen at 3:20. They worked well because I also had the La Cava Experience reserved at 4:00, right next door to Frozen. Satisfied with Genie+ so far, I made my way to the airport.

Flight was uneventful, as flying Delta out of Detroit usually is. Highly recommend it if you're in the area. This trip I tried something new and rented a car! I've seen positive reviews here and on the DVC Fan page, plus I was planning some non-Disney activities this trip, so it was a good opportunity. Something else new, I rented from Turo instead on the normal companies. The process took a little bit of extra time since I had to pick up the car at an economy lot rather than in the terminal, but it saved about $300 so well worth it.

First major advantage to having a car: driving straight from the airport to Epcot.
20220415_130158.jpg