My Minnie Mouse Cakes

pharmama

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone- I'm fairly new to the DIS and have been hanging out (mostly lurking) in the DCL forum since we're going on the Dream this summer.

2 of my three DDs are having a joint b-day party tonight and I had the idea to make cakes to look like the mouse ears hats.

I'm so excited about how cute they came out that I wanted to share the pics with other Disney fans... hopefully this is a suitable forum :)

photo.jpg

Hi everyone- I'm fairly new to the DIS and have been hanging out (mostly lurking) in the DCL forum since we're going on the Dream this summer.

2 of my three DDs are having a joint b-day party tonight and I had the idea to make cakes to look like the mouse ears hats.

I'm so excited about how cute they came out that I wanted to share the pics with other Disney fans... hopefully this is a suitable forum :)

photo.jpg

Those are awesome! How did you make them? I would love to try!!! :goodvibes

They were actually remarkably easy. I just baked the cake in a glass mixing bowl (2.5qt Pyrex) for the nice domed shape. They also have a 9" round beneath the dome layer (would have been too short without this and my girls both wanted 2 different flavors in their cakes). Put them together with some buttercream including an outer layer.

I used Black Fondarific Fondant (bought it off Amazon- much easier to work than Wilton and tasted better too). Rolled out and lay on top. Easy! The ears are cardboard covered in the same fondant. I tried some edible materials but none of them worked very well. The kids at the party all wanted to eat the ears and were disappointed they weren't edible so I might try to figure out something else next time.

For the writing, I cheated. I have the Disney (Waltograph) font on my computer so I printed out their names the right size with that. Then I held the printout up to the cake and 'traced' it with a toothpick. Then just followed the dots with the red icing.