How long in advance should one book at BWV?

cosmopup

Earning My Ears
I am not a DVC member, but I wanted to know how long in advance people usually book their vacations. I could understand booking 11 months in advance for Christmas and New Years. But is this neccessary for May, before Christmas, September, and other slow times of the year? I know that this is possible with the regular hotels, I can usually pick up a room 2-4 months in advance if it's a slower period.

If so this could be a possible deterrent for becoming a DVC member. As I am a Software Developer I can't determine when I can Vacation so far in advance. No kids either, so i always go when school is in session anyway.

Thanks,

Peri

:earsgirl:

It's sometimes difficult to figure when busy times actually occur at BWV. For instance, who would think the first week of November would be a biggie? Thanks to the Food & Wine Festival the BWV is very full (After sampling all the winemakers you NEED a place you can walk to, LOL). I booked at 11 months out and was told they were almost full.

That being said, I've also booked as close as 6 weeks and gotten accomodations. If you're a little flexible - that is to say you aren't in a situation where you tell them you HAVE to have a studio, standard view, 3rd floor, no more than 20 feet from the elevator, with a room number divisible by three, only on Tuesday thru Friday - you should be fine. Sometimes you may have to shift vacation forward or back a day or take a different type of room, but you can usually get something.