Hot, humid weather - any reason not to wear shorts?

CarolynFH

DIS Veteran
I'm new at this, training for the 5K at WDW Marathon Weekend. The heat and humidity around here is on the rise, but most of the women I see running/walking in my neighborhood are wearing capris (mostly black or dark colored) instead of shorts. It seems to me that light-colored shorts would be cooler and more comfortable to run in. Is there any reason other than personal preference/style to wear capris as opposed to shorts? I'm just beginning to buy running clothes, so I don't want to invest in a lot of shorts if capris would benefit me in some way physically (help me run faster/avoid injury, etc.)

TIA!

It's a personal preference. If you are comfortable in shorts, I would suggest you wear shorts.

Agreed that you should wear whatever you like. I wear mostly capris or compression shorts that are on the long side - just above the knee.

Reason = shorts ride up. The longer ones stay put.

Shorts can be tricky sometimes with riding up or chaffing. I like running in skirts with compression shorts underneath. A little bit of spandex on the thighs can do wonders to prevent chaffing - but when it's really hot, shorts are more comfortable. And then there's body glide.

Ultimately, wear whatever you like and are comfortable in.

I wear capris because I have giant thighs and no thigh gap until an inch or two above my knees though I will admit my favorite capris are not black but pink and purple or blue and purple. I have friends that run in shorts all summer though and they love it. I will say there are times where black capris are much safer on long runs.

Agreed that you should wear whatever you like. I wear mostly capris or compression shorts that are on the long side - just above the knee.

Reason = shorts ride up. The longer ones stay put.

My sentiments exactly! I run in capris when training because they don't go anywhere and are super comfy to run in.