Help me w/ my timer, please

AmyA

DIS Veteran
Hi,
I am relatively new to the DIS. I have tried to place the countdown timer in my signature, but it won't work. Javascript IS enabled, it looks fine in the preview, and it was C&P w/ no changes to my siggy. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Just a suggestion -

If you copied and pasted the lines of code that were generated, the next step should be a post to test the code before it goes into your signature.

The test post would be fine here on the tech board and appropriate to be in this thread.

By testing it in a post, you can verify that it works Ok in a single post. If you add it your signature, it will affect all of the posts you've made in the past as well as those you make in the future. Some people have hundreds of posts (I'm one of those) and if there was a problem, it could be severe enough to bring down the Dis boards, or to degrade the performance.

After the test post is successful, you can add it to your signture.

From your description, it sounds like the changes to your signature were not saved. Sometimes the buttons at the bottom of the Edit Profile page are confusing. If you don't use the 'Submit Modifications' button, it ignores anything you have done. If you use the 'Reset Fields' button, it puts everything back to what it was before you changed it, and has the same action as if you just closed out of the page.

My suggestion would be to go thru it again and paste the new code into a post on this thread. If that is successful, then go to the page with the User Control Panel and Edit Profile, paste the code into your signature, and then click on the Save Modifications button.

If that doesn't work for you, post again and we'll try to help. Or contact the author of the Countdown generator, Psiklops, using the code generator links.

hope that helps

albiats,