Help! DL Newbie Here!

RRZJ

Mouseketeer
Hi All,

We have been to Disney World a million times (we live on the east coast) and are planning our first trip to Disney Land this summer (late August). While I help plan all our friends Disney World trips, I am at a complete loss about where to start for Disneyland. The only thing I know is that we are staying at the Grand Californian in a DVC villa for 4 nights (we’re DVC members). What else do I need to know - how many days at which parks, where to make dining reservations, etc. Please hit me with all your best newbie tips.

There are 4 of us - DH, DS (15), DS (12) and me. Our teens are 100% Disney fanatics so will want to go on every ride, even if you think they are too old - e.g., Winnie the Pooh at Disney World is still ridden every trip. We enjoy all the restaurants - lots of sit downs, too. Thanks for your advice!

I would recommend getting a 4 or 5 day park hopper ticket. The parks are an easy short walk away from each other. Since you are staying at the Grand Californian you will love the entrance into California Adventure in the Grand Californian.

Dining reservations can be made 60 days in advance. You can't make reservations for length of stay like WDW, so you will have to make reservations each day. They open at 6am. I would recommend Blue Bayou (decent food, but great atmosphere) and Carthay Circle for a nice dinner. Napa Rose in the Grand Cal is also great.

Other recommendations:
a corn dog from Corn Dog Castle in DCA
the raspberry macaron from Jolly Holiday Bakery in DL
the gigantic candy bar from Pym's Test Kitchen in DCA (Avenger's campus)
Tortilla Joes in downtown Disney
Trader Sam's near the Disneyland Hotel

Have a great trip.

I recommend doing 3 days and taking the time on your arrival and check out day to check out things like the hotel pool, downtown Disney and just relaxing. I would do 2 days starting and Disneyland and one day starting at California Adventure.