Goofy Training Plans - Galloway v. Hidgon

MeridaAndAngus

If you had a chance to change your fate would you
I'm signed up for my first Goofy Challenge in 2017. I did my first half at marathon weekend in 2015, and my first full was the WDW Marathon this year. I've been running since mid-2014, using Galloway's run-walk training plans. I have been working on fitness and weight loss since mid-2014, and I now cross-train with kickboxing, barre, and yoga. I generally run 3 days a week, and do some sort of cross-training for 1-2 hours, 4-5 days/week (some days include a morning run, and a cross-training class after work). I've made huge progress in my endurance, and overall I've had good experiences using the Galloway plans to train for all of my rD races, including challenge races.

At this point, I'm wondering if I should try a different training plan for my first Goofy. I've seen recommendations to use Hal Higdon's intermediate 2 plan for Goofy training (http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51140/Marathon-Intermediate-2-Training-Program). It seems interesting, but I have a few concerns--I know won't have time to get in a 8-10 mile midweek run that is listed on the plan during the last several weeks. I'm still a slow runner, and my work schedule just won't permit me to take that kind of time on a weekday, so those runs would probably be 5-6 milers. Also, I really enjoy my cross-training and feel it has helped my overall fitness as well as my hip/leg strength and stability for running. If I switch to the Higdon plan, I think some of my cross-training would go by the wayside as I'd be running about 5 days per week.