Galveston itineraries

WalkersMom

Earning My Ears
Does anyone know why the sailings have stopped going from Texas to the Bahamas and Castaway?

Galveston is extremely convenient for our family and we enjoy the smaller ships, but having Mexico so close to us it’s more desirable to fly than cruise.

Just trying to see if there was some insight. Anyone know the possibility of the Merry time cruises going back to the Bahamas for 2025?

We were disappointed when the Galveston cruises stopped going to Castaway. I'm no expert but it seems to me like it's not going to change either. The Dream, Wish, and Treasure will all be mostly based out of Florida now, and they can all take care of those Bahamas locations.

Bahamian cruises from Galveston make it a 7 night and Disney is having the Magic do a lot of shorter cruises now for some reason. She used to do at least 5 nights but now I don't think she does anything longer than 7.

Not sure if it's because of her age or what, but just a trend I noticed.

It seems like dcl just does this. They do a season of cruises out of Galveston and then they skip Galveston for a year or two. Frustrating.

I'm really missing this, too. We're Texans and my son can't fly or do multi-day drives for medical reasons. I would love to take him back to Castaways Cay, but that isn't possible now due to the current lack of round trip Bahamian 7 night cruises out of Galveston.

Last edited:
Based on 2024, I am guessing a ship will be back in Galveston after the European season is finished. Skip Galveston sailings during Hurricane season. So, Merrytime cruises until Spring. But to the Bahamas? If they have enough business to keep doing 4- and 5-night cruises, they and the port can make more money.