Fly into MCO or Tampa?

bobcat

<font color=magenta>I had a horrible case two year
I'm looking for a good fare for DISCON and the flights are more expensive into MCO than Tampa. Sould I consider flying into Tampa and renting a car? The car rentals for the same dates are also cheaper at Tampa than MCO. I would need transportation from MCO and was considering using Mears since I'm solo this trip, but would just get a car if I flew into Tampa. Can you tell I'm confused! ;) Veteran flyers what should I do????

I really don't like to fly so I have little experience booking my own air.

Tampa is a very nice airport and it takes 70-90 mins. to get to WDW from there. Very easy ride.
When the airfare is less expensive there, we will fly in without any hesitation.

Tampa is an o.k. choice if you don't mind the longer drive to Disney.

Not to disagree with Gail H., but Tampa is not as nice as MCO (and the tram from the gates to the terminal do not feature "the voice of Disney).

Be forwarned that if you arrive in Tampa on Delta, you have to go back upstairs from baggage claim, cross over to the other side of the terminal (about the distance of a 2 lane roadway) and then back downstairs to get to the rental cars. It can be a nightmare for the uninitiated!

Have a great trip!

We have flown into Tampa and will do it again in a heartbeat. It's an easy ride to WDW and the flight times are always so much better! Go for it!

Good luck!

Thanks! Sounds like Tampa is a good option for me. I don't mind the drive since I usually drive to WDW from Ohio. ;)

Thanks to the terrific ideas from everyone here, our group got $116 round trip from Chicago to Tampa. Now today I just found and booked $149 for a full size car for a week. We are going Dec. 27-Jan3 and I was really having problems finding cheap air and car. I never expected to find this. Now I can spend more or the better stuff at Disney. Good Luck.