• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Finding the best price on car rental

Are you a Costco member? I have been using their site to book rental cars for several years now and found their prices are better than elsewhere, plus you get a free second driver. Also they have free cancellation. I have booked a reservation and seen the price go down, so i cancelled and re-booked for the cheaper rate with no problems/fees.

As someone who rents cars fairly frequently, the best rates you're going to get are directly through the rental companies themselves. Better than Costco (we are members), better than or equal to any of the other websites (many of the websites just look at the rental companys' website for prices to display). Look at smaller brands like Fox, Sixt, Advantage, E-Z, etc....sometimes you'll find steals there.

We used priceline, when I went to pick up the car they asked me how I got the rate so low, also the insurance was 10 dollars cheaper a day. I think its a hit and miss thing sometimes the prices they quote are not as low as I want.

I find Costco the best for rates. I use autoslash.com to track my rates but I also check frequently.

+1 on autoslash. Esp in Hawaii which I booked the car rental very early on (once I have the dates).

autoslash.com
AAA (be sure to check for Hertz coupons you can apply)
For Hawaii, discounthawaiicarrental.com
Whatever airline I booked through
CapitalOne Venture rewards

I am more of a Hertz fan (although will book with any of the major players if the price difference is more than a few dollars) and Costco is in the Avis camp, so I find AAA tends to work better for me than Costco.