Digital Camera?

jimmiej

I invented the Naked Segway Tour
I'm looking to buy a digital camera before our June trip to the World. I have no experience with these types of cameras. Can anyone give me some ideas of what to look for? Can I get a decent one for $300? I don't need anything fancy.

We are also looking into buying a digital camera. We have borrowed one from a friend the past year. His has 1.3 meg pixel with digital zoom. What we have figured out so far is that we will be looking for something with at least 2.0 mega pixel (the more pixels the better resolution if printing and enlarging) digital zoom is a zoom that happens internally and not one that you will see through the view finder. optical zoom you will see just like a regular camera. So we will be looking for both zooms. If you use the LCD display all the time you will use battery life quickly. We have always used the regular view finder just like a regular camera and on occasions preview the pictures with with the LCD display deleting the ones we don't like. Since we have a notebook computer amount of memory has not been a large issue, we would download and review all pictures when we got back to the room. The large the memory space the more and/or better quality pictures you'll be able to get. We will be looking at 64MB of memory. Don't remember the number of pictures per memory ratio. Right now we are looking at a Sony P50 camera 2.1 MegaPixel, 2x optical zoom, 3X digital zoom (possibility of 6X zoom total). the camera runs about $298, a 64 MB memory stick $50 and a starter kit (contains camera case, rechargable battery and recharger) $100. Sony's site also says they will be coming out with a P51 which will include rechargeable battery in Apr. Waiting to see what the P51 will be exactly. If anyone has the P50 would appreciate any commets.