Convection Oven

left210

DIS Veteran
I need some advice on my convection oven. I was so excited to get one and now 1 1/2 years later I still havent used it. I tried to use it when I first got it but it burned my cookies which I thought that wasnt supposed to happen with a convection oven. Any advice on how to use it successfully especially for baking? Thanks.

I am still learning on using ours, but if your recipe tells you to cook it for one hour, check on it at 45 minutes and see if it is done. Things will cook faster then what a recipe calls for. :dance3:

I also turn the temperature down 25-50 degrees. Things definately cook much faster so I try to make sure I'm around to check often. Then, once I know how long it took, I make a note on my recipe or on the post-it on the fridge so I can do it right the next time.

I love my convection oven. I have learned that some things just don't work well in it. It is great for making baked goods--muffins, cakes and cookies. When baking lower the temp by 25 degrees (50 if using glass). Use a shiny pan when baking cookies so they don't burn. And reduce the baking time by 25% to start. Frozen foods-like pizza- don't do well--the toppings get overdone while the bottom is cold. This goes for anything with a cheese topping-because the circulating air dries things out.
Just keep trying--you will learn to love the results!
Deb :thumbsup2

Hi! I recently got a Frigidaire convection oven. It has a function called "convection convert". What you do is key in the temp. you would use in a regular oven and the temp. is converted to what you need to use for the convection oven. Basically, it seems to reduce the temperature by 25ºF.

Also, it has convection bake and convection roast features. I cooked a beef roast using the conv. roast feature. I don't know I could be wrong, but it seemed to take the same time as cooking a roast in a standard oven.