canon rebel - digital

beckygeez

Mouseketeer
I just got the digital canon rebel for xmas and after looking at people's pictures, I can't wait til March when we'll be in WDW and on DCL. However, I don't even know where to start. I'm just starting to learn the terms "shutter speed", "white balance", etc. Yes, I'm blonde :rotfl:

Any suggestions on where to start would be greatly appreciated. My dog has been a great model for me - my kids and husband are getting sick of me and my camera! I'm thinking of getting a tripod before we go because of the great pictures I've seen people taking. Thanks for any help.

Julie

Thanks so much everyone. Which do you think is more important to get first - a tripod or a flash attachment? I have two really good lenses so I'm set there for a while until I really know a lot more about it, but I'm wondering if I should get the tripod or flash before our trip?

Thanks again!!

For the trip, I'd suggest a tripod before a flash. At least you still can use the built-in flash in a pinch but how are you really going to replace a tripod? :D

OK, so what would I look for in a tripod. I don't want to regret a year down the road that I got one without knowing what to really look for. Any recommendations? :confused3

You can spend $600 on a tripod. It all depends on what you plan to do with it. If you are going to be using it alot it is money well spent. I personally use mine only a couple of times a year so it didn't make sense for me to invest big money in a tripod. I think I spent $50 on mine and got it at the local camera store.

btw, for the above set, you'll spend approximately $150. It's no $50, but I wouldn't put my 20D plus lens on a $50 tripod (nothing wrong with that tripod, it's just because of the weight of the 20D plus lens)

I also have a $50-ish tripod, but I only put my Canon A80 and A95 on it.