Canon 20D shooters

scejas

Mouseketeer
Hey guys,

I'm looking for shooters that are using the Canon 20D... for a couple tips on settings you use to shoot around Disney. Most importantly fireworks. I could also use opinions on what equipment to buy ?

I had been shooting with a prosumer Sony Cybershot F717 for the last 3 years and now I was given the Canon 20D with Lense 18-55MM for Christmas.

Feedback?

I've been using the 20D for a couple of months now, and I absolutely love it. As for fireworks, Im a little unsure because I use mine mainly for news photography alot of still shots that kind of thing. However, you should be able to get some amazing shots cause of the 5 shots a second deal. Its great for when I shoot sports games on campus.
Sorry I couldnt be more of a help, lol, I just wanted to rant about how great a camera this is. :teeth:
Good luck.

Someone must really like you to give you a 20d! Color me a little jealous! :earseek:
Anyways, my experience with the 20d and fireworks is this: when the camera records a long exposure (in my case the exposures were of more than 30seconds), the camera seems to take equally as long to save the image onto the memory card! Example: You snap a shot, wait 15+ seconds till you hear the shutter close and then wait another 15+ seconds while the camera saves the picture to the memory card. A little frustrating, but with a little planning, you can get some neat shots!
Long exposure time=cool streaky firework effects!
The settings I used on the camera are as follows:
"film" speed=100 ISO
Fully Manual (M),
Shutter speed=30 seconds(30")
Aperture= f18
and autofocus turned off. Pre-focus on something like the castle with AF if you'd like then turn it off. It worked for me!
Hope I haven't confused you with too many techie specs. yet!
As far as physical set up of equipment, I recommend a table top tripod and a park map or anything to cover up the lens while shooting.